Well, hello everyone! I’ve been lurking about in the blog world for a while now– I’ve always enjoyed reading other blogs on idols in the fabulous world of J-pop, and I’ve always wanted to start my own, so– tadah!

For anyone who’s curious, my name’s Samantha. I just turned 19 back on August 1, and I’m a college student majoring in Neuroscience. Yeah, I don’t know why either. I’m in a bit of an, “oh god, what am I going to do for the rest of my life” crisis at the moment, but, um, for now, neuroscience! I go to a tiny university in upstate New York, and when I head back up there when school starts again, I’m sure I’ll be blasting happy J-pop whenever possible now that I am roommate-less (but that’s an entire story for another day).

 My main love of J-pop belongs to Hello! Project and its subgroups. I’ve been into J-pop in general for about five or six years now, but a little less than two years ago, I came across some Morning Musume songs, and that’s the first time I was inspired to actually research my idols. So I blame Morning Musume (Otome no Shinrigaku was, oddly enough, the first song of theirs I heard) for dragging me into the world of J-pop idols– but that’s never been a bad thing! Outside of Hello! Project (and TNX), I’m a fan of AKB48, Hamasaki Ayumi, and Utada Hikaru– and I miss SweetS!– but I’ll mainly be blogging about H!P, TNX, and AKB48 here.

On the internetz, you may have seen me around as yumestarlet on forums, and outside of that, I’m in a few singing groups, name Sekai no Melody— you can find me there as Solaire, and Stage48 Records, where I’m Iijima Yumi there.

 Last issue to address is the name of the blog, I guess! Egao YES Idols. Inspired by the Morning Musume song, ‘Egao YES Nude,’ which is a fantastic song if you haven’t listened to it yet, and– well, replace Nude with Idols and– tada! It sounded fitting! And the current layout of the blog features a picture from C-ute’s group photobook, So Cute– picked because it is, indeed, So Cute!

So that’s that! Expect a proper entry on Morning Musume’s new single very soon!

